September 12, 2006

  • This and That

    Hi all.  While browsing post on my favorite blogring “Grown Ups…” I came across a topic that was interesting so I thought, what the hell, I’m game.  Anyway, if you haven’t had a chance to check out yesterday’s post, go ahead and take a look-see since I’m still gathering opinions before I do a final draft.

    Okay…here’s the topic

    Featured Grownups Topic: A Letter of Closure

    Everyone has things happen in life where they long for closure; these can be happy, sad, tragic, imaginary/fantasy, cerebal… your choice

    Write a letter of closure to someone, something, sometime

    Dear Gabriel,

    It has been 12 years since I have seen you.  It makes me sad when I think of the time, energy, and tears I wasted in trying to have a relationship with you.  Growing up, mother used to say that you didn’t care a thing about me, that the only thing you’ve ever loved is yourself.  I didn’t want it to be true.  I wanted to think there was a part of you that could feel something for me, your oldest daughter.

    What you took away from me, the Universe gave back to me three-fold.  I wanted a loving father who was both a hero and a friend.  I found that and more in my stepfather.  He is what a real Dad should be.  I wanted someone to take pride in what I did and praise me for my accomplishments.  My grandparents never missed a choir sing, band concert, girlscouts banquet, play, musical, or poetry reading.  I wanted an advocate and a confidante.  My sister and mother have stood up for me, held my hand, dried my tears, and kept my secrets.  I wanted a man to put his arms around me and tell me everything was going to be alright.  Garth is not just a husband, but a best friend, not only when things are easy, but also when things are tough like they are right now.  I wanted someone to shine light on my path when I lost my way.  I have beautiful and special friends who love me and want what is best for me, even when it means telling me something that I don’t want to hear. 

    It has taken me a long time to realize this, but the void you left behind has long since been filled.  After many years of silence, I called you 12 years ago with an invitation to be in my life.  We talked for a long time and I gave you my phone number and email address.  You made a choice to be silent.  While I would never turn you away should you appear, I have moved on.  I have found my way.  Others have done what you could not and have stepped in to fill in the gap. 

    I am not sure what you are looking for, but I hope you find it.  I know I have.  Fare thee well, and fare me well.  I release you with love.

    Janette

Comments (10)

  • Thanks for stoping bye……….the letter is beautiful…..I had a similar experience with my mother……she finally asked to have her daughters by her side as she was dying…..I chose love too….and the missing void was filled with generous guardian angles to show me the right paths to chose at my influential years. She died this July 10th and I posted pics of our 20 year somber reunion around those days in my Xangas well. 

  • Closure with a positive turn–that’s good.

  • Glad that you can be so positive about the whole thing! I love Boston.

  • Thanks for sharing.  I am glad that you have people in your life, to give you the things you need.

    I hope you peace and luck in the future.

    Alisha

  • I think that’s great. I wish my cousins children could come to that kind of closure with their father who sounds to be very similar. thanks for sharing

    Chris

  • I’m surprised that your mother said those things to you.

  • great letter of closure…Smile

  • What a powerful letter — full of truth and insight. Go you!

  • Lovely letter and a great outlook on a bad situation. Thanks for sharing.

  • It is so wonderful to read a letter of closure with such a possitive impact…….when life knocks you down…look around for the ones who love you  …they will always be there to pick you up. I am glad you have peace, family and happiness. well done!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *