April 21, 2013

  • New Poem

    Lounge Lizards

     

     

    I spilled the iced tea you bought me

    fiddling with the watch on your wrist,

    thought of how you were one surprise after another.

    We listened to the chicken sizzling

    on the grill, the fleshy smell

    wafting in from the open patio door.

     

    You told me stories of the steel mills,

    the rock bands you didn’t like in the 70’s,

    the girl you dumped in high school

    because a wrestler mauled her tits

    inside a darkened movie house.

     

    I let you know why my heart was hard,

    that in the grunge era I showered once a week,

    a girl named Lori broke my confused heart in college,

    how I almost lost my virginity on prom night

    but then didn’t because I started to cry.

     

    Later on in bed as you grazed my navel

    I realized that I had fallen

    harder than you could ever know

    and your eyes of gunmetal blue

    blazed like a neon sign

    in the middle of the night.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *